Optics Opinions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Optics Opinions

Help me out. Brand new to long guns, so I am a novice. Been shooting many calibers of handguns, lever guns and coach guns, but I just moved into the .223/5.56 rifle caliber. Specifically, a Ruger Mini 14. I know i’m going to get some grief about scoping a ranch gun, but these old eyes are to the point where they need some help at distance.

i need some advise on what power of optic will work best on this rifle and give good results as far as accuracy. Single power or adjustable lens? Thinking about 2-7x30 or 3-9x40, 4-12x44. Would I just be wasting my $$ on a fixed power scope.

i do not hunt, just looking to shoot at the range punching paper and ringing some steel. I’ve researched it quite a bit, to the point I’m confused now. Shooting at 100yds and 200yds Not looking at any of the high dollar optics. Most likely stay with something in the budget range from Vortec, Nikon etc.

Any input will be appreciated.
    “It’s better to have a gun and not need it, rather than need a gun and not have it”

.380, 9mm, .38, .357, .45acp, .45 long Colt, .454 Casull, .223 / 5.56

Black Powder .44 Cap and Ball Revolvers

NRA RSO
    Concealed Handgun License

I'm right there with you on the eyes and the need for optics. I personally prefer variable power scopes. It's due to an innate desire to have choices. My AR wears a 2-7 VX-II Leupold compact. My hunting rifles have 3-9 Nikon Monarchs. The extra magnification on the hunting rifles really does help at 200 yards and beyond when trying to shoot smaller groups. If you're just ringing steel I don't think it will make a lot of difference, but if you're trying to shoot small groups then for me I'd want the higher magnification.
    If it weren't for double standards, liberals would have no standards at all.

"Ammo and really good friends are hard to find in a gunfight so I bring them with me" E. J. Owens

Comment