Plunk Test

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Plunk Test

I'm new to reloading pistol ammo and had seen the plunk test mentioned numerous times.
    Is there an advantage to doing this vs.using a case length headspace gauge? I would think the gauge would be a more accurate way of checking. Prior to loading my first round, I purchased a Lyman gauge. Should I still perform a plunk test?

IMHO and experience, those case length gauges aren't worth wasting money on. I've been plunking my cartridges since I start loading decades ago and have yet to have problems.

Honestly, because I've never used one, I'm not even clear on what they gauge.
    Is it the oal from case head to bullet tip?

The distance from the case head to the ogive?

From case head to the mouth?

Or does it gauge the diameter of the resize brass, with or without the bullet seated.

Either way, case length gauges do not represent your firearm chamber, only the chamber can determine the best oal for a pistol IMO.

The way I load for an auto loading pistol is to seat them as long as possible while making sure they fit the magazine and feed reliably from it.

HBC

Comment

The plunk test is a far better case gauge than anyone's case gauges. Why, because the case gauge is a not an exact replica of the barrel in your pistol.
      The case gauge is made to work for all barrels which are not the same. All barrels are different.
      So why waste the money.
      "The United States Marine Corps is a drug and I am a recovering addict."

"American by birthright… U.S. MARINE by the Grace of GOD!"

"And on the 8th day God created Marines and like fish, we came from the sea!"

Comment

Thanks.
        I thought it might mirror measuring a rifle chamber and loading accordingly, but much easier to accomplish.
        That was a few bucks I could have used toward the new P220

Comment