38 special wadcutter load

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 38 special wadcutter load

This is my first attempt at wadcutters of any kind. The bullets are from Matt's Bullets and I can't wait to shoot them. They're sitting on top of 3.6 grains of W-231. I had a question of where to seat the bullet down to, and called them....Matt himself answered, and told me what I needed to know. I'll let you know how this shoots when I go shooting next week, I have high hopes for this because it's supposed to be a really accurate load.
    "Beware the fury of a patient man." - John Dryden

Looks good to me. I have a mold that drops 150 gr DEWC and has a crimp groove, and I lightly roll a crimp. Works quite well...
    I\'ve learned to stand on my own two knees...

Comment

Most of my 38 special are loaded with wad cutters. I cast several types of them and they all perform well. My favorite load is 2.6 to 2.7g Bullseye over 148gr DEWC but have used many powders with success. I think you will really like them.

Comment

For some time I have been shooting some match wc in my old model blackhawk and nothing else.
        I was raised in the 50\'s on jackrabbits and gunpowder.salt and pepper wooda made\'em taste better

Comment

I load HBWC 148 grain, with 2.5 grains of 700-X for use in the 1951 pre-model 10 snubbie...
          Bayou52
          Bayou52
          NRA Life Member

Comment

Used to load 148HBWC's just below the case mouth with a mild crimp. Just started loading them again. 148 plated HBWC's just above the mouth with a mild crimp. I can't tell any difference. Anyone know if there is?
            Never drink down stream from the herd.

Comment

How accurate were they when you seated them below the case mouth?
              "Beware the fury of a patient man." - John Dryden

Comment

probably a bit of pressure difference.
                case volume matters.