Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• first batch of 308's

Hello everyone, New to reloading/handloading,

I made a first batch of 308's using (so far) cheaper versions of supplies and not exceeding recommended loads.

Speer 150 gr BT #2022 bullets,
    Hodgdon Benchmark powder (40 gr)
    CCI BR2 primers,
    single fired reused brass.
    total lenght 2.8" +/- 0.005 because its soft-tip and size varies.

I shot about 20 rounds, expected velocity is around 2500 fts, yet I measured 2100's.

I know I'm doing something wrong, just don't know what. Would it be safe to take those reloaded rounds and compress them to 2.79" and keep going every 0.01" untill velocity is what is expected?

how long is the barrel you are using? i'm new to reloading myself, so I won't have much insight, but I have seen where different length barrel from the manual can change velocity data.

I run a 16 inch barrel on my 308, and even though I haven't speed checked them yet, I suspect they aren't as fast as what the manual data says. That being said, I'm getting 1/2 to 3/4 moa at 100 yards, so I'm fine with it!

Comment

Remington 700 VTR, 22" barrel, 1 - 10" twist.

Comment

CAUTION: This post discusses loads or load data that may or may not be appropriate for your gun or for the cartridge(s) and components mentioned. Due to typos, variations in guns and components, and the abilities and judgement of users of this data, neither the writer, Handloadersbench.com, nor the staff of Handloadersbench.com assume any liability for damage or injury resulting from using this information. DO NOT ATTEMPT TO DUPLICATE THE DESCRIBED LOADS without first working them up from a published safe starting level charge while watching for pressure signs. If you don't know how to do that please don't try, for your own safety and the safety of others.
        Friends don't let friends shoot factory ammo.

Continuous effort - not strength or intelligence - is the key to unlocking our potential.