Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

O.A.L., seating depth, powder charge... 3 dark territories for me.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• O.A.L., seating depth, powder charge... 3 dark territories for me.

Hello everyone,

Im new to handloading, starting to get a feel for it, but there are few variables that do not make me comfortable yet, as I do not want to damage my rifle or myself... So here are some questions:

I made about 100 rounds of .308's, followed recommended recipe from powder manufacturer. I understand that i did not get same results, but I would like to tinker with the recipe a bit
    • Speer 150 gr bullets, #2022
    • Hodgdon Benchmark powder, 40 gr
    • re-used cases
    For now I am satisfied with accuracy, chronograph readings were below the powder datasheet, but in previous post I have been told that its ok.
    I have measures the COAL of my rifle using 2 home-made methods, and its longer than 2.9". All datasheets that I have seen so far have pointed out to seat the bullet no more than 2.8". I understand the reason behind that. I have watched some youtube videos, and the need to seat the bullet 0.010" from COAL lenght, but apparently I cannot do that with my rifle
    I understand that adding more powder may increase my velocity but also increase the pressure. (I will stick to low end, 40 gr)
    I would like to take 5 or so of my reloads and seat them 0.005" lower (2.795") , take another 5 or so and seat them lower than that (2.790"). How would this change my trajectory? How low can I go before its considered dangerous?
    It will also increase my pressure, how would I know that there is too much pressure (except for my rifle exploding)? Is there a way to calculate the pressure without measuring ? Is there any way of knowing that the pressure is too great?