Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Drum Powder measure and extruded powder

Hello!

I'm new to reloading, and I'm preparing to do my fist set of 308s on my Hornady LNL AP. I've searched through this forum, but haven't found an answers that satisfies, so if this has been addressed before, I would kindly ask that you point me to it.

In reading the Hornady handbook, I bought some IMR 4064 as suggested. Naturally, one of the first things I realized was that the Hornady powder drum doesn't measure well with extruded powder. So I'm hoping to census you fine folk and see how you handle this issue.

Do you use the drum powder measure and just "power through" when the powder (pellet? grain?) binds in the drum? Or do you forego the measure all together, and "hand load" the powder? Or do you do something else entirely?

I'm not reloading for accuracy, so I realize that I could go either way. But I was hoping to take a peek, so to speak, at how others deal with this.

Thanks in advance!

Cogito, ergo armatum sum.

I've loaded thousands of rounds using a drum measure and IMR 4895 which is a stick powder almost as long as IMR 4064. Most of this was .223 rounds for Prairie Doggin'. I just power through it. And make sure that I raise the handle quickly enough to cut the powder and "tap" fairly aggressively as the handle hits the stop. I also "tap" it fairly aggressively on the down stroke to settle the incoming powder into the drum. I get fairly good accuracy, but feel I can do better. I'm switching to a to a spherical powder for the .223. I will stick with the IMR 4895 for my 30-30, 30-40, and .308 Hunting loads.