Mec 600Jr Depriming & resizing problem

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Mec 600Jr Depriming & resizing problem

I'm having a problem using a Mec 600Jr (old one, pre-1985) that I recently acquired. Firstly, I've been handloading for rifle and pistol for almost 10 years, so I'm not a newbie at reloading brass. However, I'm just getting into reloading shotshells precipitated by the acqisition of a nice but older 12-gauge over/under brno shotgun and the desire, in my senior years, to learn how to shoot sporting clays. My initial research led me to two universally accessible shotshell reloaders: the Mec 600 and the Lee Load-all. I found a Mec 600Jr on eBay and bought it. Whatever small parts were missing or looked too worn I was able to buy on-line. Now that it is all set up, I'm having a problem with the first station, namely depriming & resizing. The problem is that after raising the arm (after depriming) the hull will only partially eject. The brass base ejects, but the plastic hull will not, and is stuck and cannot even be pulled out - I have to unscrew the housing tube of the first station and give it a might yank to remove the hull. Going online, I saw this video https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NNgISPzS5_c - so I ordered the modified knockout punch. The punch part works fine, but the hull still gets stuck on the depriming punch (the lower part of the station's assembly). All parts of this station have been cleaned and polished, and I even tried using case labe, but the hulls still get stuck. Has anyone experienced this problem and come up with a solution? In looking at the bottom part of the assembly, can a smaller deprime punch be used, say, one for a 410, as this should have no effect on resizing, as this is done by the ring on the bottom on the housing tube?

Have you tried adjusting the cam that hits the top of the ejector? It's a slotted adjustment right above the ejector.