What's the difference

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What's the difference

I was speaking to a co-worker yesterday and the topic of small based dies came up. Of course, I have no experience with them so I kept the discussion short as to keep from stepping on my tongue over something I know nothing about. As I reload for 308 he was suggesting I invest in a small base resizing die. Is there a benefit of using a small base die for sizing, or would it be a waste of cash?
    "There\'s no such thing as a good gun. There\'s no such thing as a bad gun. A gun in the hands of a bad man is a very dangerous thing. A gun in the hands of a good person is no danger to anyone except the bad guys."

-Charlton Heston

If you are recycling 308WIN brass from full auto weapon it might be something to look into. Otherwise, save your money unless you are having issues with chambering right now.
    It's not that Democrats are so damned ignorant. Their problem is that everything they know is wrong.

Wimachtendienk, Wingolauchsik, Witahemui

He who knows not and knows not that he knows not, is a fool.
    He who knows not and knows he knows not, is wise.

Comment

And another thing.....SB dies will shorten your case life due to being overworked.
      It's not that Democrats are so damned ignorant. Their problem is that everything they know is wrong.

Wimachtendienk, Wingolauchsik, Witahemui

He who knows not and knows not that he knows not, is a fool.
      He who knows not and knows he knows not, is wise.

Comment

If you're not having trouble now, why bother? Like the old saying goes, "If it ain't broke, don't fix it." Like was said above, if you should get a very smokin' deal on some brass that ran through a machine gun, then you might need a small base die. I load for several rifles in .308 and haven't needed one yet and one rifle is a custom job with a very tight chamber.
        Paul B.

Comment