Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Any tips for airline travel?

Hi y'all,

I will be visiting my son and his family at Ft. Wainwright in Alaska this November and will be taking a rifle and 2 boxes of handloads for his wife to use on on upcoming hunt. I've read Alaska Airlines information on traveling with firearms but this is my first time traveling by air with a valuable weapon and want to make sure everything gets there in one piece. BTW, I'm starting in Atlanta and going to Fairbanks so there will be a number of plane changes on the way. Which means my bags will be thrown around a lot by the time we arrive. Thanks in advance!

Use hard gun cases and the same for the ammo.
    Jeremy

"Necessity is the mother of all inventions."

Comment

The TSA website will also have guidance. When you check in declare an unloaded firearm. You used to have to use TSA marked locks but all the ramper's eventually got keys and were stealing suff out of the cases. Now they are not required. All the hasps/holes for locks in the case must have a lock. Keep one set of keys on you and one in your carry on, not in checked luggage in case they lose it. Allow extra time for check in and for pick up. Buy the best case you can afford. Pelican or similar. You will be surprised at how much rash your case will arrive with. Counter intuitive but the loaded ammo usually goes in together with the gun. Double check that. My last trip with two guns in the case had to have been dropped on end from 5-6'. Both scopes had moved in their mounts. I have had times when they've paged me to come and open the case but usually they open it on their own. With the proof being a post card inside the case with TSA logo.
      Endeavor to persevere.

Comment

Look at SKB cases, great. Have had mine for at least 15 years and use it for all travel. Not cheap but worth the cost.
        "The United States Marine Corps is a drug and I am a recovering addict."