Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Possibility to combine two Lyman products for better accuracy and reduce setup time

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Possibility to combine two Lyman products for better accuracy and reduce setup time

I'm sitting here in my hotel room in Yuma, AZ while deployed down to the SW border thinking about which brass cutter to get. Since I'm currently working the swing shift, I've got plenty of time to read reviews and look up prices on all the different models and options. I'm just starting out with this reloading thing so I'm not wanting to buy the absolute best (most expensive) options. I was pretty interested in the LE Wilson brass cutter but after looking at what makes it so great (the micrometer adjustment) and the cost of everything you need, I don't think I want to go that route right now as it would be over $200 just to start trimming 223 rounds.

So I started looking at the Lyman and Lee products. I found great reviews and like the affordability of the Lyman universal case trimmer. Not having to have a whole set of shell holders seems like a great benefit and the consistency seems pretty good. Then I found the Lee cutter and lock head coupled with the case gauges really interesting due to the set size of the gauges providing what would have to be near perfect consistency. Low and behold, Lyman has something similar for a handheld option.