22 lr/l/s

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 22 lr/l/s

It seems most .22s these days, at least semis, only take Long Rifle .22s. I have an old Rem Speedmaster (?) tubular semi that takes all three .22 configs. Problem is that I simply cannot find Longs or Shorts anywhere these days, only LRs. I'd like to find shorts for shooting small vermin (chipmunks, starlings) on and around my property. Seems to me that shorts would be sufficient for short range. And although I live in a very rural area where people don't frown and fuss over the sound of gun shots, as I remember, nonetheless, shorts are quieter than LRs.
    Proud to be a NRA member!

There use to be a significant difference in price of shorts vs long rifle. Once that difference was gone, and short cost the same or more, folks abandoned shorts. It is difficult to design a semi, blow back action to take different loads.

Comment

CCI used to make something akin to shorts. Also they make CB caps. I live in town but the lots are large and wooded and the CB caps work great for the squirrels that won't stay out of my wife's flower pots.
      Never drink down stream from the herd.

Comment

My uncle used nothing but 22 Shorts for squirrel hunting. Shorts were cheaper back then, and he grew up a poor farm boy, never outgrew that part. That said, Midway has six different 22 shorts in stock plus Aquila's 22 Colobri.
        "The fact that guns can kill another human being is the whole point. That\'s why they are so darn good at deterring violent criminals". Ann Coulter

Comment

Cabelas usually has shorts on the shelf here ? (Tulalip store )
          also usually more expensive than LR's
          Salt&Light

WOODSMAN777

Comment

https://www.cabelas.com/product/REMI...MO/1924923.uts
            Salt&Light

WOODSMAN777

Comment