Hello, from an absolute beginner

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hello, from an absolute beginner

Found you while looking for a reloading community. I find myself in a daunting position, and hope to benefit from your collective experience and wisdom.

A friend told me her late husband had dabbled in reloading, that he had a small press, and that I could have it if I'd pick it up. I've thought about reloading for some time, but never acted on it. Though interested, I know nothing other than basic facts and am a blank slate. I'm hoping you will enjoy sharing my discovery and exploration of this craft.

So, I went out to pick up the press. I found not a press, but 25 boxes of gear and components! Still unpacking and taking inventory, but here's what I've got so far:
    • Dillon Square Deal B with die sets for .38s, .357 Mag, and 9mm;
    • MEC 8567N Grabber 12 ga;
    • Dillon powder balance scale;
    • RCBS 120V Vibratory Tumbler;
    • primers (small caliber handgun and shotgun);
    • wads;
    • hulls;
    • cases (.357 Mag, .38s, 9mm);
    • 12 cases of clays;
    • other stuff I have yet to unpack.
    So, my first step was to see what I've inherited. The second was to seek an ongoing source of advice and knowledge. And here I am.

I have a Benelli Supernova for the house, carry a Sig P226ST in 357SIG, and my grandfather's early Remington Model 11 has a place of honor. Looking forward to learning from you all.

Welcome from The Lone Star State.

You hit a gold mine it would appear. Lots of good folks and info here.

First, get yourself 1 or 10 reloading manuals. Hornady and Lyman would be a good start.

Then read these two Articles, https://www.handloadersbench.com/art...uipment-advice
    followed by these 4 https://www.handloadersbench.com/art...tridges-1-of-4